24 Hours in Sydney

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

An awful photo of me in a beautiful (and windy) city.

I was in Sydney this weekend to sit the ACTs-an exam required by US universities. Although I can’t realistically see myself going to the the states for uni, Sydney is my first preference for Australia. I wanted to decide whether this would be a city where I would happy to live in next year.

The short answer: a definite yes.

On Friday afternoon, I went straight from school to the airport. I was already changed because we were taking our yearbook photos just before and my bag was in the boot of the car.

By the time I got to the airport and had a quick snack, it was time to board the plane. I am always in various states of exhaustion so I fell asleep pretty quickly- the sky was cloudy so I couldn’t stare out of the window like I normally do. Luckily, on the flight back the weather was significantly better and I managed to take this pretty picture (you can see the Opera House and Harbour Bridge!!)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

After settling into the hotel room, we decided that it was definitely time to get some food. While the restaurant that I wanted to go to was full (we phoned to see if they had any availability and they said that if we were to walk in now, they could get us a table in around two hours…yikes), we decided to try some nearby Italian street food. The Gamberi tagliatelle was perfection.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Then, after a quick trip to Coles to get some breakfast and snacks for my exam break, it was time to head back to the hotel. There was nothing on the television, so I read the newspaper and revised a little for the essay component of tomorrow’s looming exam.

The exam itself took around four hours, but with the registration and other bureaucratic elements, I was in the testing centre for well over five hours.

While I was waiting for my dad to come pick me up so we could head to lunch, I found a nearby park with an incredible view. I was slightly overwhelmed with how beautiful Sydney was. I loved the metropolitan feel – even though Brisbane has a population of two million, it feels very suburb-y and dull. Sydney, on the other hand, is brimming with so much energy. I would genuinely be very happy to go to uni here.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

We headed to a nearby restaurant for lunch, I didn’t take many photos but you know the kind of place – pillars and arches mixed with artful concrete. The menu was simple but the flavours were complex. However, I couldn’t resist snapping a few photos on the way to our next stop, it was such a lovely day!

The next destination on this whirlwind trip was Gelato Messina and it was incredible. There was such a large variety of flavours and while I was tempted to stick to chocolate, I ended up choosing salted coconut and mango – a choice I don’t regret!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Leave a Reply

